Words of Wisdom from Mr Holland

As I was watching one of my favorite movies tonight some words of wisdom came to mind that as I prepare to leave the school board I wanted to share. The movie was Mr. Holland’s Opus and I hope the quotes I share will remind those I leave behind why we do what we do in Education. Read on below:

“A teacher has two jobs; fill young minds with knowledge, yes, but more important, give those minds a compass so that that knowledge doesn’t go to waste. ” (This may be hard to follow as the system teaches to a test)

Vice Principal Wolters: I care about these kids just as much as you do. And if I’m forced to choose between Mozart and reading and writing and long division, I choose long division.
Glenn Holland: Well, I guess you can cut the arts as much as you want, Gene. Sooner or later, these kids aren’t going to have anything to read or write about. ” (As budgets get tight lets not forget what a well round education means)

Finally, for those good educators I leave to carry on the good work they do please don’t think like Mr. Holland did before the closing, ” You work for 30 years because you think that what you do makes a difference, you think it matters to people, but then you wake up one morning and find out, well no, you’ve made a little error there, you’re expendable. I should be laughing. ”

Because, ” it might be easy for him to think himself a failure. But he would be wrong, because I think that he’s achieved a success far beyond riches and fame. Look around you. There is not a life in this room that you have not touched, and each of us is a better person because of you.”

Again I may be outside the mainstream but I will continue to be an Advocate for children and Education.

About Gary M Wolfe

The Author spent 10 years as a member of the Milford Delaware Board Of Education, and is currently seeking the 18th Senatorial seat in the Delaware Legislature.
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

