Reorganization of Milford Board

Well, tonight the Milford Board like all others boards in Delaware had its reorganization meeting tonight. I was looking to stay on as president, but it seems the “haves” and good old boy network of a small town did not like the direction I was leading. Even before the meeting started I could heard the whispers, and as the voting unfolded I could hear “ET Tu Brutus” ringing in my ears. I love being a part of the Education of the children in Milford so I will take my bumps, lick my wounds, and go on demanding the best for the children! I will continue to post the goings on of the board, and those that think we need to go backwards better have their A game as I will be making sure the board, and community knows it is about the kids not what your name is or if its in the contract.

About Gary M Wolfe

The Author spent 10 years as a member of the Milford Delaware Board Of Education, and is currently seeking the 18th Senatorial seat in the Delaware Legislature.
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Reorganization of Milford Board

  1. I really value your posts and your service. I know that many, many others across the state do as well.

  2. Kilroy says:

    Your an inspiration to what school board member should be about. An independent individual who is committed to open government and allow sincere open dialog.

    Sadly history will repeat itself as RTTT will prove more fatal than DSTP and NCLB. The federal government can’t run itself efficiently and now wants a greater role in local control of public schools and their board memebers.

    We need bold individuals who dare to cut across the grain from time to time. Stay with us and keep letting the sunshine in.

  3. John Young says:

    Amen,

    Keep up the great work and keep an eye on RTTT!

  4. ancora imparo says:

    I JUST learned of the changes. I want to sincerely thank you for your time and commitment. You stay informed. I have listened to people complain that the “new” people are making changes that need to be stopped. These people make references to changes that are RTT choices,direction,funding – their comments show me how uninformed they are of what the state and national are doing. I certainly hope their won’t be a return to the practice of using the district for personal benefit.
    Thank you for listening. Thank for your welcoming the disagreement.

    • Wolfe Gary says:

      RTTT, and other issues that required changes have been met with much pushback in the district, but change is always hard to except because that means there is something that needs change! I will continue to work from behind the scenes to see we don’t return to the “good Ole days”, but what bothered me the most the other night was the comment made that the community and union wanted me out because of too many changes.

  5. Ancora Imparo says:

    I hear comments where community and board members blame “new people” for the RTT/state/fed regulations. It’s pretty embarrassing for them. If you are going to represent the community on the board or hold a leadership position – I ask that you do your reading and inform yourself. There is no “good ole days” – and to say so shows a lack of informed knowledge in an era where it is needed more than ever.
    We didn’t always agree – but you stayed informed and you listened. I respect you for that.

  6. John Young says:

    Just so I can be clear about RTTT, I am not against it because it is change. I am against it because it has no research base and is likely to not work.

    • Wolfe Gary says:

      I would say your on the right road, and I would add throwing money along with untried methods at schools does not answer the societal issues facing our children today!

Leave a Reply

