Day two of the NSBA conference-Sat. 3/29

Today I attended two professional development classes. In the morning, I attended “Strategies for finding the right Superintendent” hosted by members of the Oklahome,Illinois, and Pennsylvania school boards associations. I wanted to begin my background understanding of the process as the Milford District will be see it’s Superintendent retiring next year. The key points I heard was the need for:
1. Determining goals and interests of the whole community.
2. Develop criteria and requirements
3. Search and advertise
4. Screen applicants well
5. Interview successfully
6. Negotiate well, and announce the selection.

A couple of facts which surprised me however was that nationally the pool of “good” superintendents is shrinking, and a district is lucky to get 36 months out of a new hire! Take home message was do it right get help, and the board is key to keeping a superintendent.

My second session was about what I’m doing as I sit here at the computer and that is “blogging” to reach me constiuents, and community. I did learn I need to make some changes, including maybe putting together a email list so I can let folks know when I have new information. If you don’t want to add comments to the blog, but want to ask a question or whatever you can email me at werewof1@excite.com. I started this page to open dialog with Milford folks about education, but if you are from another district I might be able to help you direct you in the right direct for those districts. I will let you know how things go tomorrow as I plan to attend other sessions.

About Gary M Wolfe

The Author spent 10 years as a member of the Milford Delaware Board Of Education, and is currently seeking the 18th Senatorial seat in the Delaware Legislature.
This entry was posted in Delaware, Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

